so close to the sea of lights, so far from heaven

image

so close…
to the sea of lights, so far from heaven.

tweeting at 160
near midnight on the cowboy trail
#22 south, 2 Redbull
and a bag of cheezies
making a wish on a shooting star
for you
and yours

image

you should see this sky…

I said…

…where the granite silhouette of my youth hides the crescent moon and the stars remember me there, laying on the grass of Meghan’s front lawn after dark,
after dancing in her 5th grade split level living room,
right here right now,
after driving 3 hours
only to say goodbye
with a hug,
and head back
home.

“Can you pick me up at the airport?”

“Sure.”

“The doctor says I need to stay another week for more tests.”

Long drive, small talk, and now we wait…
I can’t sleep…
I wish, I wish, I wish…

This entry was published on January 17, 2013 at 1:30 am. It’s filed under Life, Love, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Follow any comments here with the RSS feed for this post.

Leave a Reply

