I miss the rain

imag00981

I miss the rain and the long drive down the coast from the mountain to the sea.  I miss the friends we lost there and the times they left me with the bill after taking the girls home who were old enough to be their aunts.  I miss the innocent bliss of climbing alone and sliding down with sticks on my feet not knowing so many would be gone in a turn or two below the peak.  I miss the drive and the day they burned the trees in the canyon to add another lane when we found our way home.

There is a sign through one of those canyons not far west of right here, right now, that reads, “God bless the people of these mountains”.  As a boy I was never certain if it were a blessing or the simple acknowledgement of the reality of life and death in a place where the silence beyond your own plastic footsteps is so close to God you can hear your loved ones whisper, ‘hello, I love you…’

I miss the rain…

This entry was published on January 12, 2013 at 11:05 pm. It’s filed under Life, Love, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Follow any comments here with the RSS feed for this post.

Leave a Reply

