Just the way you are…

image

Dear Darlin’

Every night I fall in love sitting on the couch with your head curled up on my shoulder after a sip of my water before you drift away.  Billy Joel and Oscar the Grouch singing, “Just the Way You Are”, with a broken down old piano and a trash can is our lullaby as I watch your eyes close with a smile.

The holidays are over soon, your bangs are getting longer and your pajamas look like they are getting shorter.  You’re such a big girl now. Your little eyes are mine, pale blue grey like daddy’s behind those curls. Your head at my shoulder and your feet at my knee wishing I could keep you there…right there in every way forever, just the way you are.

Good night.

This entry was published on January 7, 2013 at 11:52 pm. It’s filed under Love, Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink. Follow any comments here with the RSS feed for this post.

Leave a Reply

